Skip to main content

General Prizes

Focusing on Academics in the field of their expertise:

Academic staff can apply for the following prize opportunities:

  • The Peter McGregor Prize in recognition of exceptional achievements or innovation in astronomical instrumentation.
  • The David Allen Prize for exceptional achievements in astronomy communication.
  • Australian Museum Eureka Prize this is a comprehensive national science award, honoring excellence across the areas of research & innovation, leadership, science engagement and school science
  • The Walter Boas Medal for excellence in research in physics Australia.
  • The AIP Award for outstanding service to physics in Australia and recognition of exceptional contributions on the part of an individual to the furtherance of physics as a discipline.
  • The Harrie Massey Medal & Prize awarded every 2 years for contributions made by an Australian physicist working anywhere in the world. or to a non-Australian for work they have carried out in Australia.
  • The AIP Women in Physics Lecturer Award celebrating the contributions of women to advances in physics.
  • The Alan Walsh Medal for Service to Industry recognises significant contributions by a practicing physicist to industry in Australia.
  • The AIP Medal recognises an outstanding contribution to physics education in Australia.
  • WA Premiers Science Award recognises and celebrate the achievements of the Western Australian science community. Award recipients exemplify the outstanding scientific research and engagement taking place in the State. The Awards cover all fields of science, including natural, medical, applied and technological science, engineering and mathematics.
  • The Governors School STEM Awards this is an annual awards program overseen by the Department of Jobs, Tourism, Science and Innovation and administered by Scitech. The Awards recognise and celebrate Western Australian primary and secondary schools that demonstrate excellence in leadership, advocacy, engagement and achievements in science, technology, engineering and mathematics (STEM) education. The Awards support the Government’s State STEM skills strategy by highlighting the importance of developing a whole-of-school STEM culture where STEM learning is embraced by the school principal, leadership team and teachers with a resulting positive impact on students, parents and the community.
  • WA Science Hall of Fame The Western Australian Science Hall of Fame was established in 2007 to recognise exceptional lifelong contributions from Western Australians to science, technology, engineering or mathematics (STEM). Inductees are announced at the annual Premier’s Science Awards presentations. Each year, members of the community are invited to nominate outstanding Western Australians who are pre-eminent in their field to be considered for induction into the WA Science Hall of Fame.
  • The Bernice Arthur Page Medal for excellence in amateur astronomy in Australia and its territories. It is normally awarded every two years for scientific contributions by an amateur astronomer that has served to advance astronomy. OCTOBER 2019