Skip to main content

Awards & Prize Opportunities

Throughout the year there are many opportunities for Students & Staff to apply for prizes and awards in their field of expertise.

Here are some of the awards & prizes an upcoming talented individual may be interested in pursuing.


2019 Curtin University Awards for Research Excellence

Nominations are now open for 2019!
The awards aim to encourage nominations from a wide range of disciplines and to accommodate research excellence at all levels in the University in a way that encourages diversity.

NOMINATIONS CLOSE: 19th September 2019



General Prizes – Focusing on Academics in the field of their expertise:

Academic staff can apply for the following prize opportunities:

  • The Peter McGregor Prize in recognition of exceptional achievements or innovation in astronomical instrumentation.
  • The David Allen Prize for exceptional achievements in astronomy communication.
  • Australian Museum Eureka Prize this is a comprehensive national science award, honoring excellence across the areas of research & innovation, leadership, science engagement and school science
  • The Walter Boas Medal for excellence in research in physics Australia.
  • The AIP Award for outstanding service to physics in Australia and recognition of exceptional contributions on the part of an individual to the furtherance of physics as a discipline.
  • The Harrie Massey Medal & Prize awarded every 2 years for contributions made by an Australian physicist working anywhere in the world. or to a non-Australian for work they have carried out in Australia.
  • The AIP Women in Physics Lecturer Award celebrating the contributions of women to advances in physics.
  • The Alan Walsh Medal for Service to Industry recognises significant contributions by a practicing physicist to industry in Australia.
  • The AIP Medal recognises an outstanding contribution to physics education in Australia.
  • WA Premiers Science Award recognises and celebrate the achievements of the Western Australian science community. Award recipients exemplify the outstanding scientific research and engagement taking place in the State. The Awards cover all fields of science, including natural, medical, applied and technological science, engineering and mathematics.
  • The Governors School STEM Awards this is an annual awards program overseen by the Department of Jobs, Tourism, Science and Innovation and administered by Scitech. The Awards recognise and celebrate Western Australian primary and secondary schools that demonstrate excellence in leadership, advocacy, engagement and achievements in science, technology, engineering and mathematics (STEM) education. The Awards support the Government’s State STEM skills strategy by highlighting the importance of developing a whole-of-school STEM culture where STEM learning is embraced by the school principal, leadership team and teachers with a resulting positive impact on students, parents and the community.
  • WA Science Hall of Fame The Western Australian Science Hall of Fame was established in 2007 to recognise exceptional lifelong contributions from Western Australians to science, technology, engineering or mathematics (STEM). Inductees are announced at the annual Premier’s Science Awards presentations. Each year, members of the community are invited to nominate outstanding Western Australians who are pre-eminent in their field to be considered for induction into the WA Science Hall of Fame.
  • The Bernice Arthur Page Medal for excellence in amateur astronomy in Australia and its territories. It is normally awarded every two years for scientific contributions by an amateur astronomer that has served to advance astronomy. OCTOBER 2019


Student Awards & Prizes – Focuses on Honours, Masters & PhD Students.

  • The Bok Prize for outstanding research in astronomy by an honours or eligible masters student at an Australian University. DECEMBER 2019
  • The Charlene Heisler Prize for the most outstanding PhD thesis in astronomy or closely related field, accepted by an Australian University, the Thesis research must show outstanding excellence & originality. DECEMBER 2019
  • The Bragg Gold Medal for excellence in Physics to recognise the work done by a PhD student in Australia that is considered to be on outstanding quality.
  • The TH Laby Medal for excellence in Physics for the best honours of Masters thesis form an Australian University.


Early Career – Focuses on scientists early in their post-doctural career.

  • The Louise Webster Prize recognition of outstanding research by a scientist early in their post-doctoral career, this is awarded on the basis of the scientific impact a single research paper, which has the applicant as first author. The research paper can be in any area of astronomy or closely related field. This Prize in intended for work carried out primarily after completion of a post graduate degree. DECEMBER 2019
  • The Ruby Payne-Scott Award for excellence in early-career research recognises contributions made by a physicist who is just beginning their career and to help promote the careers of exceptionally promising young physicisits
  • Young Tall Poppy Awards recognises the achievements of Australian scientists through the prestigious annual Young Tall Poppy Science Awards. The Campaign’s Tall Poppies engages the winners of Young Tall Poppy Science Awards (‘Tall Poppies’) in activities to promote interest in science among school students and teachers, as well as an understanding and appreciation of science in the broader community.

Mid Career – Focuses on Academic in the middle of their career

  • The Anne Green Prize for a significant advance or accomplishment by a mid-career scientist. DECEMBER 2019